Last-Minute Tips for Brokers to Beat the April 30 Deadline

Motion blur shot of a cheerful business woman crossing the finish line (shutterstock_122081617)The license renewal deadline for Illinois real estate Brokers is only weeks away. For those who have yet to renew their licenses, this can cause panic. But it doesn’t have to.

Follow the steps below to maintain your license. Each step offers tips on the fastest way to stay compliant (so you can keep working).

Complete Your Education

Brokers in Illinois are required to complete education before renewing their license. The type of education depends on what date your license was issued. Find out the original issue date of your license by checking the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) license lookup page at their website.

  • Brokers whose licenses were issued before 2/1/2016 require 12 hours of core and elective continuing education. While live classes are permitted, self-study or online distance education (new for 2018), are the fastest and most flexible options. Self-study courses can be completed anywhere, anytime and require a proctored exam. Online distance education and classes don’t require a final exam, based on recent real estate license law amendments. Finding live classes in your area at this late date may be a challenge. We recommend trying out online distance education. Real Estate Institute offers convenient continuing education options here.
  • Brokers whose licenses were issued from 2/1/2016 – 1/31/2018 require post-license education. Half of this 30-credit-hour requirement must be delivered via interactive instruction, such as a live class or webinar. With limited time remaining, webinars are recommended because they offer very flexible attendance options – review your post-license education options.
  • Brokers whose licenses were issued after 1/31/2018 won’t have to renew until 2020, so no education is required at this time. Even so, these Brokers should complete their post-license education well before their deadline to get it out of the way so they don’t have to worry about it later. (Tip: You can get started as soon as 5/1/2018.)

Renew Your License

Most Brokers know that they must pay the renewal fee to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) but are unsure of the exact process. Read the following for specific details about the renewal process:

  • After completing your required education, you may renew the license. The IDFPR license renewal fee is $150 for the two-year period. (Tip: This close to the deadline, it’s important to find an education provider that will quickly issue your certificate of completion.)
  • The IDFPR strongly encourages Brokers to renew online. You may have received a PIN via e-mail from the IDFPR. (Tip: It’s not needed to renew.) The license number, plus one of the following is needed to renew: Social Security number, date of birth or the IDFPR-issued PIN. A paper-based renewal form is also available with this information.
  • You can begin the renewal process by visiting the IDFPR website and selecting the renewal method offered for your profession.

Real Estate Institute has been a leader in real estate education for 25 years. Our team of experts is standing by to answer your questions about your requirements, our courses and the renewal process. Please don’t hesitate to contact us at 800-995-1700.

What You Need to Know About Illinois Broker License Renewal in 2018

Alarm Clock_Apr 30_1 Text Line_No BkgThe Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) recently e-mailed Brokers, announcing that they are officially “In Renewal.” The department is now accepting online license renewal applications.

If you didn’t receive this announcement, you may need to update your contact information with the state to receive future notices. To easily update or add your e-mail address, click here.

Remember, you cannot renew your real estate license until your required education is complete. It’s important that you follow these instructions for a timely renewal.

Step 1 – Complete Continuing Education or Post-License

Illinois real estate Brokers need 12 hours of core/elective continuing education (CE) every renewal period, EXCEPT Brokers who are in their first renewal period. Brokers in their first renewal period are required to complete a 30-hour Broker Post-License program. (If you were licensed on or after February 1, 2016, you must complete Post-License.)

The current Broker renewal period began May 1, 2016, and ends April 30, 2018. If you complete CE or Post-License education with Real Estate Institute, our school reports your course completion directly to the IDFPR.

Step 2 – Submit Your New License Application

After you have completed your CE or Post-License requirement, you must renew your license with the IDFPR. There are two ways to renew your license:

  1. Apply Online – The IDFPR permits online license renewal applications to be submitted up to 90 days before the license expires. This option allows you to complete the entire renewal application and pay online. Click here to apply online.
  2. Mail Your Application – The application can be completed online, printed and mailed with payment. If you use the paper application, we strongly recommend that you send it to the IDFPR via USPS Certified Mail so that you receive confirmation of delivery. Delivery confirmation will be critical in the event of a delay in license renewal. It will likely take the IDFPR several weeks to process your application.

If you have questions about your education requirements for renewal, online resources are available: Continuing Education FAQs and Post-License FAQs. More information can also be found at InstituteOnline.com/NextSteps.


Real Estate Institute has been the local leader in Illinois real estate education for over 25 years. More Brokers choose Real Estate Institute than any other provider for their required license renewal education every season. Our team of experts is standing by to answer your questions about your requirements, our courses and the renewal process. Please don’t hesitate to contact us at 800-995-1700.

Are Final Exams Required for Real Estate License Renewal?

Empty_chairsOn January 1, 2018, amendments to the Illinois Real Estate License Act took effect. While most of the changes are subtle, there is already an impact for Illinois Real Estate Brokers. Over the past few weeks, our customer service team has been getting lots of questions about the changes. Here is the key question and answer…

Do the license law changes impact your 2018 Broker license renewal?

Yes, but not in a significant way.

Although the amended license law makes some changes to curriculum and the way courses can be offered, most of the impact of those changes won’t be felt until the next license renewal period. That’s because there’s another step in the process. The state must first establish administrative rules that implement many of the changes.

Even so, the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Education (IDFPR) recently indicated that some aspects of the amended license law are very clear and may be implemented in advance of the rulemaking process. This has led to some confusion among licensees.

Impact on Broker Continuing Education

As a reminder, most Illinois Brokers must complete 12 hours of continuing education before renewing their licenses. The IDFPR understands that with the Brokers’ two-year license renewal period nearly complete, it would be unfair to make changes that significantly change the CE requirements before the April 30, 2018, deadline.

That means you can stick with the tried-and-true way you’ve completed CE for previous renewal seasons. No need to change it up unless you really want to. For most licensees, that takes the form of a simple self-study program.

In addition to self-study programs, licensees sometimes attend classes or webinars to earn CE credit. You may be pleased to learn that if you attend a live, interactive CE course via classroom or webinar, you are no longer required to complete a final exam for that course. Keep in mind that you must attend the entire course. (Attending review classes for self-study CE courses is not permitted.)

Attending 12 hours (at least two days) of live training is not for everyone, and you may be looking for another way to avoid a self-study course with a final exam. If you’re feeling a little adventurous and willing to try something new, Online Distance Education may interest you. This new interactive course delivery method just became available under the amended license law. Online Distance Education is a modern approach to self-study that has some pros and cons, depending on your perspective:


No one relishes the idea of taking a test. It’s important to know that although a final exam is not required with Online Distance Education courses, there must be interactivity, which includes quizzes/knowledge checks along the way to make sure you’ve gone through the entire course.

Impact on Broker Post-License Education

Brokers whose licenses were issued after February 1, 2016, will be renewing their licenses for the very first time. This group of licensees is required to complete a 30-hour Post-License Education program in lieu of continuing education for their first renewal. This program consists of two courses:

  • 15-Hour Broker Post-License Topics
  • 15-Hour Broker Post-License Applied Real Estate Practices (Interactive)

If you’re among those who need to complete post-license education by April 30, you’ll be happy to know that the “Applied” course, which requires interactive delivery, no longer requires a final exam! This means that a final exam will only be required for the “Topics” course and only when completed in a self-study format.

While it may be possible to attend the “Topics” course in a class or webinar format, our student feedback indicates that independent study is strongly preferred. Attending an extra two days of classes/webinars is challenging for anyone, especially new brokers trying to build their businesses. Until now, that left only a self-study course option, which includes a final exam. (Although nobody looks forward to a final exam, the 25-question exam is based on the school’s course and is really no big deal… and there is no state license exam to follow.)

As mentioned above, the new course delivery method, Online Distance Education, lets Brokers avoid a course final exam without any extra class or webinar attendance. This format is a great fit for students who are open to online courses.

For most students, completing the “Topics” course via Online Distance Education and the “Applied” course via webinar will be the winning combination. “Applied” webinars reinforce the concepts learned in the “Topics” course by providing live interaction and feedback from expert educators. This makes it possible for post-license students to complete all their coursework online, choosing their own schedule, without any final exams!

In summary, the course format you choose will determine whether a final exam is required.


Real Estate Institute has been a leader in real estate education for 25 years. Our team of experts is standing by to answer your questions about your requirements, our courses and the renewal process. Please don’t hesitate to contact us at 800-995-1700.


New Brokers’ Quick Guide to the First Real Estate License Renewal

Hands_holding_green_apple
We always advise Broker Pre-License students about their Post-License Education and Continuing Education (CE) requirements, once they successfully pass our school final exam and the state licensing exam. But during all the terminology, laws and rules that they are studying and learning, the nuances of required education and license renewal can be easily forgotten. Here is a quick guide to help new Brokers navigate and understand what is required.

Education Overview

All Real Estate Brokers licensed by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) are required to complete education during each two-year license renewal period (by April 30 in even numbered years). As a follow up to their pre-license education, newly licensed Brokers are required to take a 30-hour Post-License Education program during their first renewal. All subsequent renewals require a 12- hour Continuing Education program. In a previous blog, we discussed changes to the license law and how it will impact Brokers.

What does the law say about Brokers and their first license renewal period?

Brokers are required to complete 30 hours of post-license education, including a school-administered examination for the course, prior to their first renewal of that license. This course must address the practical application of pre-license topics to the practice of real estate as set forth in law. Furthermore, Brokers completing the 30-hour Post-License program during their first renewal period shall not be required to complete any continuing education during that renewal period. The 30-hour Post-License requirement must be completed within the two years immediately prior to the Broker’s first renewal.

How does this affect you?

  • If you received your first Broker’s license between February 1, 2016 and January 31, 2018, you will need to complete a 30-hour Post-License program by the April 30, 2018 renewal deadline.
  • If you will be issued your first license after February 1, 2018, you do not need to take the 30-hour Post-License program this renewal period. You will need post-license education by April 30, 2020.

What should you do?

First, determine when your license was issued by the IDFPR. You can call us – we are happy to provide you with this information. Or you can find your license issue date on the IDFPR website. If you are uncertain about education requirements and how they pertain to you, call an IDFPR-approved pre-license and continuing education provider for more information.


Real Estate Institute has been a leader in real estate education for 25 years. Our team of experts is standing by to answer your questions about your requirements, our courses and the renewal process. Please don’t hesitate to contact us at 800-995-1700.

5 Broker License Renewal Myths

Success + Failure SignMyth #1: Broker post-license education is a type of continuing education.
Many education providers are calling post-license education a CE option. This is not the case. Post-license education is actually a follow-up to your pre-license training, and it takes the place of continuing education for newly licensed brokers. It is a one-time requirement. Post-license education must be provided by an IDFPR-approved pre-license provider. Education providers that are only approved as continuing education providers cannot offer this course. Importantly, post-license credit will not be accepted by the IDFPR as continuing education credit and vice-versa.

Myth #2: If you transitioned from the Salesperson to Broker license, this is your first renewal.
If you transitioned your license, this is not your first renewal. You must complete 12 credit hours of continuing education (not 30 hours of post-license education) by April 30, 2014.

Myth #3: Ethics is required by the state for renewal.
The state does not have an ethics requirement. The IDFPR does require 12 credit hours of core and elective education. Specific provisions for core courses can be found here. Some real estate boards require ethics, but this is not needed for your license renewal. (Real Estate Institute includes an ethics elective in its 12-hour CE package.)

Myth #4: Attorneys are exempt from all broker renewal requirements.
Active Illinois attorneys are exempt from the continuing education requirements, but they must submit the renewal application and fee to the IDFPR by April 30, 2014.

Myth #5: Out-of-state licensees have different license renewal requirements.
If you live out of state and hold an Illinois Broker license, you must complete the same requirements as a Broker who lives and works in Illinois. Brokers licensed prior to February 1, 2012 must complete the 12-credit-hour continuing education requirement. Brokers licensed on or after February 1, 2012 must complete 30-hour post-license education. Brokers must also submit the renewal application and fee to the IDFPR by April 30, 2014.


Real Estate Institute is approved by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. Pre-License Provider #510.000158 and Continuing Education Provider #562.000161. Each year, thousands of licensees choose Real Estate Institute for its flexible continuing education and post-license education programs. If you have questions about your education requirements, our compliance experts are available at 800-995-1700 from 9 a.m.- 5 p.m., Monday through Friday.

What Every Broker Needs To Know About Post-License Education and Their First Renewal

It’s quite an accomplishment to complete the state-mandated 90-credit-hour broker licensing program in Illinois. You finish the coursework, pass the state exam and are ready to take advantage of the rebounding real estate market. But wait, did you know your license might be expiring soon? Time to check your pocket card for your license expiration date. Most Illinois real estate Brokers must renew their license by April 30, 2014. It seems like a long way off, but if you are a new Broker, you need to get started now to satisfy the education requirements for renewal.

Post-License, Not CE
If you are a new Illinois real estate Broker, you are not required to complete continuing education for your first license renewal. Many of your colleagues who have been licensed for a while will be completing 12 credit hours of CE. This is not the case for newbies. Instead, new Brokers must complete post-license education. Your subsequent renewal periods will require CE.

Plan For Post- License Now
The Illinois post-license education requirement is a 30-credit-hour, state-approved program. Post-license is a two-part course. You must complete the 15-credit-hour Post-License Topics course (self-study or live). You must also attend a 15-hour Applied Real Estate Principles course. This must be a live interactive class or webinar.

After you have completed the entire 30-credit-hour program, the state requires a proctored final exam. The good news is that there is no requirement to take another state exam … you’ll do everything directly with your school.  You will want to enroll for the courses now to ensure you have the education requirements completed before you renew your license at the IDFPR website.

Keeping It Simple
Real Estate Institute offers state-approved post-license education. Busy Brokers benefit from our simple, straightforward program. A combination of self-study with regular classes and webinars helps Brokers satisfy their requirement quickly. Find out why Illinois Brokers recommend that their colleagues complete post-license education with our school. Call 800-995-1700 or click here for more information.

Upcoming Deadline for New Brokers to Complete Post-License Requirement

New Illinois real estate brokers licensed between May 1, 2011 and January 31, 2012 must complete a state-approved post-license course by April 30, 2012.  Continuing education is not required during the first renewal period.

Post-license is a two-part course. You must first complete the 15-credit-hour Post-License Topics course (self-study or live). Upon completion of the Topics course, you must attend a 15-hour Applied Real Estate Principles course.  This must be a live interactive class or webinar.

Course topics include:

  • Working with buyers and sellers
  • Foreclosures
  • Advertising regulations
  • Agent safety
  • Laws related to disclosures and real estate practices

Time is running out to complete this state requirement before the deadline.  If you have questions, please call the Real Estate Institute.